PMJA Announces 2024 Award Winners

Public Media Journalists Association (PMJA) Announces Annual Award Winners

EMBARGOED FOR RELEASE – June 6, 2024 - The Public Media Journalists Association (PMJA) is pleased to announce its annual award winners for 2024. The awards, announced in conjunction with the organization’s annual conference being held in Washington, DC are for work completed during 2023. In all, the organization is presenting 269 first and second place awards across 33 categories. Awards are presented in five divisions representing public media organizations with as few as one to more than 30 newsroom employees. The full list of winners is available here.

“This year, we had over 1,450 entries from 144 different organizations in our awards contest,” said PMJA Executive Director Christine Paige Diers. “We’re proud to be able to recognize the great journalism across the country through this contest.”

In addition to the annual awards, PMJA presented this year’s Leo C. Lee Award to Alisa Barba of America Amplified. The Leo C. Lee Award recognizes lasting commitment to public radio journalism and is awarded each year to an organization or individual that embodies that commitment. PMJA also recognized this year’s Editor of the Year, Rachel Osier Lindley, senior editor of The Texas Newsroom – a collaboration among Texas public radio stations and NPR.

About PMJA: The Public Media Journalists Association (PMJA) is a professional association for public media journalists in the United States. Membership includes over 130 local public radio newsrooms across the country. PMJA’s programs provide professional development, career support and networking opportunities to the over 1,800 journalists working at its member stations.

Please refer to our Awards Promotion Guidelines for links to logos, pronunciation guidance and more.