PMJA Editor of the Year

Each year since 2017, PMJA has recognized an Editor of the Year. The award is designed to recognize an individual who exemplifies the very best in story editing and newsroom leadership. The Editor of the Year award is designed to recognize the importance of editors to the craft of journalism. We understand that often the hours of hard work put in by editors doesn’t get the recognition it deserves, and this award is one small way we are trying to change that.


2017 – Phyllis Fletcher, Northwest News Network

2018 – Carol Smith, KUOW

2019 – Karen Frillman, WNYC

2020 – Kate Concannon, Mountain West News Bureau

2021 – Brian Larson, KUNC

2022 – Priska Neely, Gulf States Newsroom