Volunteer to judge the PMJA Annual Awards

Enter now       Awards home       Categories & Guidelines

Dive deep into inspiring public media and uplift outstanding voices. Judging the PMJA Awards isn't just a task, it's a transformative experience. You'll connect with the community, learn from fellow judges, and sharpen your craft while helping choose the best projects.

We seek passionate judges with:

  • Public Media background: Your current or previous experience provides a strong understanding of public media's unique voice and mission. 
  • Experience across the field: Reporting, production, editing, more – your unique background is welcome!
  • Open mind and critical eye: Discover fresh voices, provide feedback, and champion excellence.

This year, you'll:

  • Review 15-30 submissions in 3 weeks. Explore diverse stories and identify gems deserving recognition.
  • Share your expertise: Offer valuable feedback to help entrants reach their full potential.

Ready to be part of something special? Fill out this form to volunteer as a PMJA judge and help shape the future of public media storytelling!

2024 PMJA Awards contest judges

  • Jonathan Ahl
    Jonathan Ahl
    Interim Managing Editor St. Louis Public Radio (573)341-4017
  • Krista Almanzan
    Krista Almanzan
    PMJA Editor Corps (831)915-8422
  • Ann Alquist
    Ann Alquist
    Director of Radio Prairie Public
  • Bob Beck
  • Howard Berkes
    Howard Berkes
    Journalist 801-598-9372
  • Stephan Bisaha
    Economic Mobility Reporter WBHM (205)739-1142
  • Brian Bull
    Brian Bull
    Reporter (330)840-9224
  • Jim Burress
    Jim Burress
    Host/Senior Producer WABE (404)229-8880
  • Kylie Cameron
    Kylie Cameron
    Reporter KMUW/Wichita State Univ. (316)978-7573
  • Jackie Coffin
    News Director Yellowstone Public Radio (406)531-9021
  • Doug Doyle
    Doug Doyle
    WBGO News and Sports Director, Morning news Anchor, Host of WBGO Journal, Host of SportsJam with Doug Doyle WBGO-FM (862)849-8168
  • Julie Drizin
    Julie Drizin
    Executive Director Current
  • Nadya Faulx
    Specialty beats editor KERA
  • Teresa Frontado
    Teresa Frontado
    Executive Editor WAMU-FM (202)885-1296
  • Tony Ganzer
    Tony Ganzer
    Author, Kneading Journalism
  • Lester Graham
    Lester Graham
    Host/Reporter Michigan Public
  • Rebecca Green
    News Director Northeast Indiana Public Radio/WBOI (260)918-1088
  • Kurt Gwartney
    Kurt Gwartney
    Sr. Director of Communications, Phillips Theological Seminary Phillips Theological Seminary (918)270-6470
  • Celia Hack
    Celia Hack
    Reporter KMUW/Wichita State Univ. (913)553-9772
  • Reginald Hardwick
    Reginald Hardwick
    News and Public Affairs Director Illinois Public Media (217)244-2773
  • Mary Hartnett
    Mary Hartnett
    News Manager Siouxland Public Media (712)212-1907
  • Emily Hays
    Emily Hays
    Race, Education and Rural Issues Reporter Illinois Public Media (217)333-5073
  • Cara Hetland
    Director of Journalism South Dakota Public Radio (605)204-0204
  • Rick Holter
  • Gabrielle Jones
    Gabrielle Jones
    Vice President of Content Louisville Public Media (502)814-6560
  • Kamila Kudelska
    Kamila Kudelska
    News Director Wyoming Public Radio
  • Chad Lampe
  • Jenny Lawton
    Jenny Lawton
    Editor and Showrunner (718)869-9997
  • Aileen LeBlanc
    Aileen LeBlanc
    Producer/Director/Editor LeBlanc Productions Ltd (502)316-3856
  • Michael Leland
    Michael Leland
    News Director Iowa Public Radio (515)725-1725
  • Mike Marcotte
    Mike Marcotte
    Editor, Consultant, Trainer, Coach MVM Consulting (619)201-2677
  • Greta Mart
    Greta Mart
    News Director Northern California Public Media (707)584-2061
  • Rachael McDonald
    Rachael McDonald
    Host / Reporter KLCC Public Radio
  • Tarryn Mento
  • Elizabeth Miller
    Elizabeth Miller
    Class of 2025 Education Reporter Oregon Public Broadcasting
  • Doug Nadvornick
    Doug Nadvornick
    News and Program Director, interim Morning Edition host - Spokane Public Radio Spokane Public Radio 5093285729
  • Shula Neuman
    Shula Neuman
  • Melanie Peeples
  • George Prentice
    George Prentice
    Morning Edition Host Boise State Public Radio (208)315-0484
  • Johnathan Reaves
    Johnathan Reaves
    Student Advisor (870)972-2807
  • Emily Reddy
    Emily Reddy
    News Director WPSU-FM (814)380-4303
  • Ted Robbins
    Ted Robbins
    Managing Editor KCRW 5202718887
  • Ed Ronco
    Ed Ronco
    News Director Interlochen Public Radio (231)276-4415
  • Susan Sharon
    Susan Sharon
    Deputy News Director Maine Public (207)330-4528
  • Mary Shedden
    Mary Shedden
    News Director WUSF Public Media (813)974-8636
  • Tom Shine
    Tom Shine
    News Director - KMUW KMUW/Wichita State Univ. (316)978-7324
  • Chad Snow
    Chad Snow
    news director KJZZ 91.5 FM (480)774-8219
  • David Sommerstein
    David Sommerstein
    News Director North Country Public Radio (315)229-5304
  • Naomi Starobin
    Naomi Starobin
    Managing Editor, Audio News WAMU-FM
  • Amy Tardif
    Amy Tardif
    Corps Excellence Regional Manager Report For America (239)851-9983
  • David Thompson
    Prairie Public
  • Traci Tong
    Traci Tong
    Editor (508)878-5478
  • Ethan Toven-Lindsey
    Ethan Toven-Lindsey
    VP, News KQED-FM (415)553-2810
  • Caitlin Troutman
    Iowa Public Radio
  • Ryan Vasquez
    News Director WWNO/WRKF (352)294-1500
  • Ann VerWiebe
    Ann VerWiebe
    Email Marketing Manager The Cleveland Orchestra (330)732-7079
  • Tana Weingartner
    Tana Weingartner
    Senior Editor/Reporter WVXU
  • Julianne Welby
    Julianne Welby
    Multimedia Journalism Lecturer and Freelance Editor (917)647-3634
  • Rosemary Westwood
    Rosemary Westwood
    Editor and reproductive health reporter WWNO/WRKF (504)919-9465
  • Brent Wolfe
    Brent Wolfe
    News Director WUNC (919)445-9172
  • Annie Wu
    Deputy Editor - Digital Content Ideastream Public Media (216)916-6380
  • Andrew Yeager
    Managing Editor WBHM (205)934-2256
  • Johanna Zorn
    Johanna Zorn
    Independent radio and podcast editor and consultant (773)612-2570